Pub of the Season Spring 2024

Pub of the Season Spring 2024

Nan Moor’s Bar, Todmorden

On Wednesday 26th March 2024 Halifax and Calderdale CAMRA members attended Nan Moor’s Bar in Todmorden to present the Spring 2024 Pub of the Season Award to the owners Lauren and Alice. In his speech Halifax and Calderdale CAMRA’s Branch Chair, Richard Lee, praised the bar for its welcoming and friendly staff, the picturesque setting, the vibrant atmosphere, the range of beers and ciders on offer, the gravity dispensed real ales and bag in a box and other real ciders. The event was well-attended by locals and CAMRA members and the Mayor of Todmorden, Tyler Hanley, was also present to show his support.

The cask ales on offer at the presentation were Torrside Yellow Peak APA (4.2%) and Wishbone Velvet Stout (5%) and the real ciders in bag in a box were Udders Orchard Brigantia (5%) and Deanhouse Dry (6%), all of which were in excellent condition. In addition another real cider, an English Pilsner, Budvar and two craft ales were available on keg as well as a range of ales and ciders in bottles and cans, including French ciders, and a full range of spirits, cocktails and other drinks.

Nan Moor’s Bar is located in Todmorden town centre, is adjacent to Rochdale Canal Bridge and is easily accessible from Todmorden Railway Station and bus stops within the town. It is frequented by drinkers of all ages and is dog and family friendly. The single room is split level and there is a garden which is accessible from the back of the bar area and from the canal towpath. A range of events and community activities are organised including Open Decks, a folk club (twice a month), other music events, a book club, a scrabble club and a pinch pot workshop. Nan Moor’s is the only bar/pub in Calderdale to permanently serve real ale by gravity dispense.

The owners of Nan Moor’s Bar, Lauren (back) and Alice (front), celebrate their Spring 2024 Pub of the Season success with Tyler Hanley (The Mayor of Todmorden) and Richard Lee (Halifax and Calderdale CAMRA Branch Chair)